Dr. Johanna Dwyer is Professor of Medicine (Nutrition) and Community Health at the Tufts University Medical School, and Professor of Nutrition at Tufts University Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy. She is also Senior Scientist at the Jean Mayer/USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging at Tufts University. She is the Director of the Frances Stern Nutrition Center at Tufts Medical Center. From 2003-2007 Dr. Dwyer served part time as Senior Nutrition Scientist Office of Dietary Supplements, National Institutes of Health, where she was responsible for several large projects, including studies of dietary supplement motivation and use, development of an analytically substantiated dietary supplement database and other dietary supplement databases, development of research on the assessment of dietary supplement intake and other topics. In 2001-2 Dr. Dwyer was the Assistant Administrator for Human Nutrition, Agricultural Research Service, US Department of Agriculture.

Dwyer received her D.Sc. and M.Sc. from the Harvard School of Public Health, an M.S. from the University of Wisconsin, and completed her undergraduate degree with distinction from Cornell University. She is the author or coauthor of more than 200 research articles and 300 review articles published in scientific journals on topics including dietary treatment of end-stage renal disease, the role of dietary flavanoids in health; preventing diet-related disease in children and adolescents; maximizing quality of life and health in the elderly; vegetarian and other lifestyles, and databases for bioactive substances other than nutrients.

She served on the 2000 Dietary Guidelines Committee, was a member of the Food and Nutrition Board of the National Academy of Sciences from 1992-2001. She was elected member of the Institute of Medicine National Academy of Sciences in 1998, and served as Councilor of the Institute of Medicine from 2001-2003. She is editor of Nutrition Today. She is the past President and Fellow of the American Institute of Nutrition, past Secretary of the American Society for Clinical Nutrition, and past President and Fellow of the Society for Nutrition Education. She received the Conrad V Elvejhem Award for public service in 2005 from the American Society for Nutrition Sciences, the Alumni Award of Merit from the Harvard School of Public Health in 2004, the WO Atwater award in 1996, and the Medallion Award of the American Dietetic Association in 2003.

Back to Nutrition Science Advisory Council